top of page

Choose Life Today

"He that abideth ought himself also to walk even as He walked." 1 John 2:6

What does abiding in Christ look like for you right now?

I asked someone that out loud last week and if felt a little invasive. A little rude. Isn't our faith our own business?

But I asked it because I genuinely wanted to know about this person's well being. And I've been asking myself the same question ever since. I think the pondering helps every one of us to grow.

Before you read anything I have to say, absorb the whole second chapter in 1 John. It's only 29 verses and will take you about 4 minutes.

What stood out to you?

I heard some things that sound. . . hard, but come with a promise. . . Keep His commandments, love your brother, not the world. . . the world is passing away but those who do the will of God will abide forever.

My own understanding of abiding in Christ means I can not do any of these hard things I want to do without His strength. I must be utterly confected to the life blood of Jesus to love my husband and kids and neighbors better than myself. Not just when I feel like it, not just when I'm having a good day. But in the hard times too.

When I choose to not abide in Christ (and I believe we all make this choice every day), it looks more like this (maybe you can relate with this cycle that may span one day, or a week, or much longer to come to fruition):

I quickly get frustrated with the requirements of the day, I subconsciously decide it's just too hard and so I lower the bar for myself (phew, now I'm allowed to yell, get angry, have some self pity, and generally sin against anyone who crosses my path). Sinning against people, like it or not, results in guilt. Now I enter into feeling badly, which I can push off for a time (I was justified afterall!) but eventually am robbed of joy or motivation or . . . true life! Choosing to abide without Christ is death. For reals.

When I choose to abide in Christ it looks more like this: Day by day, I need to be soaking up his words, talking to Him, and asking for His Holy Spirit to fill me up to bursting so I will overflow with life for others. For me, that means getting up before my kids do so I can have quiet (and coffee) and time with Jesus. It literally changes the course of my day. Is it possible to have an early morning coffee chat with God even when Lewis threw up all over me, and Zac, and our bed the night before and I was starting laundry at 2 a.m.? Probably not. But stealing some moments somewhere in the day will help. A friend of mine is wonderful at reminding me to light a candle, get out the word and invest 15 minutes. It is always worth it even if you don't get the warm, fuzzy feeling you were hoping for right then. God's got you, and He is going to provide whatever you need.

Abiding in Christ is less about checking "Christiany" boxes and more about getting your heart in a place to receive His plans and desires for you. Many christians can turn scripture reading and prayer into a regiment that lacks beauty and communion with the creator of the universe. Don't check that box. Find your own way to connect with God's word. But do connect with it.

Abiding in Christ means becoming a funnel for his love. What does that mean on a Friday in December when there is nothing to eat for lunch, overnight bags need to be packed, laundry needs to be taken down three flights of stairs, small hearts need to be shepherded, words need to be spoken when another nasty, word and fist-slinging fight breaks out over whose turn it is to play with the new Playmobil truck and trailer set?

Abiding in Christ does not mean I'll float through my day with perfect ease. Most likely I'll face a lot of opposition. It is when we give our heart over to our wills that the fight stops. The devil has us where he wants us, so there's no more struggle. We can feel very much "at peace". On the other side, being an instrument of Christ means constant dying to self and esteeming others better. There's nothing easy about this. But is it good? Is it rich? Is it possible through Christ? And does it result in eternal life? Yes, and yes, and yes, and amen.

"This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live."

Deuteronomy 30:19

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

aboutus

I'm Caitlin Grace and I live in harsh but beautiful Wallowa County, Oregon where my husband and I ranch beef, homeschool our four kids and seek good days.

LEARN MORE
bottom of page