top of page

Carriage House Market


The Carriage House Market was a wonderful first time success! Despite rain. Despite wind. Despite 40 degree temperatures. Actually, Friday night was glorious. We had music and citrus punch on the lawn, sunny skies and a warm night of chatting, laughing and visiting.

But we knew what was coming. I had my parka in the closet ready for the next day and did I ever need it! A friend of mine roasts fresh coffee so we had a steady supply on the covered porch to sample and buy. Shoppers darted from the cars to the porch, and then had to dodge streams of rain as they made their way to the Carriage House. That's commitment. And all the good reception and positive reviews and "I hope you do this again!"s were good for our moral on a day like that. At one point, during a lull in the day, all of us just sat down (collapsed) in the shop and hit pause. A candle made by Carrie was burning, flowers arranged by Anna and Julie on the tables refinished and painted by Jamie, bright paintings all around us by Anna and my mom and Meghan, the smell of lemon and lavender soaps made by my mother in law. . . . it was beautiful, and we all just sat and admired it for a while.

Kilner Conrete

Terri Rice original still available because I stole it and put it in my house

Leather earrings handmade by Meghan

This is something I'm trying to get better at. Taking a moment to enjoy what the hard work accomplished. It's so easy to rush into the next task. The next assignment. The next day. It's easy to scoff our culture's rainbow and sunshine messages about believing in yourself, but some of us forget there truly is value in encouraging ourselves on a job well done. Hit pause. Wait on the Lord (Isaiah 40:31). Look at what you've made and call it good. Perfect? No, but be satisfied and thankful and happy to learn how to improve. You'll be stronger and better equipped for the next thing to tackle and more importantly you'll have the perspective to keep you going.

Last week I spent recovering and counting my many reasons to see God's generous hand in my life yesterday, today and tomorrow. And I'm learning the tomorrow part is actually the most important. He's been good, He is good and He will continue to be good no matter what dark clouds, wind and rain enter my life.

So take heart and trust that tomorrow, the Lord is for you in all things.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

aboutus

I'm Caitlin Grace and I live in harsh but beautiful Wallowa County, Oregon where my husband and I ranch beef, homeschool our four kids and seek good days.

LEARN MORE
bottom of page