top of page

Carriage House Makeover


If you've watched their show or read Chip and Joanna Gain's Magnolia Story you've probably had the sudden urge to lay subway tile, paint everything an attractive, cool neutral, and of course put up some shiplap. Their positive, exciting approach to life is infective and I love how they have been willing to try anything to make their business together work. What inspired me most in the story was Joanna describing the temporary decor shops she set up in their earlier years. A few times a year, she transformed their home into a showroom of beautifully staged rooms and design concepts where everything was for sale.

I think I was scrubbing out my sink and listening to this on audible at 9:30 at night (My new tradition, which I tell you, is actually totally therapeutic and wonderful. Kids in bed. 30 minutes. A great audible book. House all picked up and in order to greet you in the morning) when all that Chip and Joanna can-do attitude spurred on this one thought: A Carriage House Market!

I have this totally adorable carriage house sitting outside my door. And that's what it's done for two years. Sit. It is original to the 1898 house and was truly used for carriages. At one point I moved in a queen sized bed and some tables and lamps and used it as overflow for guests, but the pine panelling and dingy carpet were robbing it of being a pleasant space. So then it started collecting stuff. Bunk beds, and my boys' target practice paraphernalia, and Lew's stroller. Sad.

Scrubbing away on the sink, the aha moment sunk in and gave me the best feeling. "Are you ready to see your fixer upper?!?" I asked myself. "Yes!!" I told myself.

So I started calling friends and family. (Not at 9:30, I waited for morning) "Do you want to help me with a pop up shop?" They were in. Which, for me, actually makes this a fun endeavor -- if I get to do it with people I love who are as excited about design, beauty and creativity as I am.

So mark your calendars, June 8 and 9. Handcrafted beauty, new and old, multiple decor styles, furniture, and lots of gorgeous artwork. Friday afternoon at 4 will be a special opening event, so you can sip, shop and chat with everyone.

You're invited!

We'll see, maybe this is the first of many different themed pop ups, mayb it will become a space for all sorts of creative endeavors, but I've already enjoyed the process so much, and am pretty happy with what some paint and hard work does to make an unused space into potential for the freed imagination.

Check out the "Before" and "During" below and come to the shop June 8 and 9 for the "After!"

Before- Sad

Saved the farmhouse lights with spray paint!
Stil sad, but dreaming of becoming more

Coming along!

PS love this ceiling color we used to get rid of the blindingly ugly styrofoam ceiling tiles (thank you Carrie for telling me to go dark and then painting it with me!) It's called Tempest Teapot and is a lovely in-between of black and navy.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

aboutus

I'm Caitlin Grace and I live in harsh but beautiful Wallowa County, Oregon where my husband and I ranch beef, homeschool our four kids and seek good days.

LEARN MORE
bottom of page